We realize that since AngiesList.com is a membership service that not all people have access to the reviews that are posted. Below are all the reviews for us on their website as of 2/11/13.
Description: Lawn Aeration
Comments: I was very impressed with the professionalism and responsiveness of the staff. Everyone I e-mailed or talked to was great. I bought this deal for both my yard and my sister’s. they were great about scheduling and explaining what to expect. I was pretty happy with their work but my husband and my sister felt the plug size removed could have been bigger and there were places in our yard where the ground was too hard for the machine to get good plugs out. I would recommend this company based on how much I liked dealing with them.
Description: They aerated a portion of my lawn.
Comments: My lawn was larger than the area stipulated in the promotion, so the company said it would aerate the additional space for another fee. However, they refused to return even though I agreed to pay the additional fee. Ultimately, they were very unprofessional, and I will not use them again.
Description: They aerated our lawn.
Comments: Everything went well. They did the work as promised, and we have no complaints. I can’t grade “professionalism” since I wasn’t here when they did the work.
Description: Core aeration of our residential lawn.
Comments: I purchased a sale priced core aeration offer from Tuff Turf Molebusters through Angie’s List. I received a purchase confirmation email from Tuff Turf in about a day, with information about the services to be performed and asking for necessary details about our yard. Due to the promotion, they were scheduling a couple weeks out and provided prompt, detailed updates about when they would perform the service. They performed the aeration on schedule. Due to the late fall service date and the fact I was out of town on business during that week, most of their work was covered with leaves when I arrived home. From what I could see, they did a complete and satisfactory job.
Description: We had a little trouble with scheduling because of weather, but it was not their fault. They did all areas in no time and we were happy with everything.
Comments: Pleased with the outcome. Good equipment and friendly.
Description: I had a hard time getting the right time to be here when they got here. They could not give me a close time . So I had to leave and have my grandaughter come stay while I was gone . She said the lady did a good job, but she did not really know much about it being a teenager and never seen it done before. She said she felt sorry for the lady as she had a hard time finding my address. She would have been sooner. Coming from Bryon Center, she should have been given directions from the company or have a GPS system with her.
Description: Tuff Turf Molebusters did a core-aeration on my lawn. They were courteous, professional, and meticulous. I would use them again for this service and others in the future. Very friendly staff.
Comments: Great experience!
Description: We purchased a deal through Angie’s List to have our lawn aerated by Tuff Turf Molebusters.
Comments: The firm was very professional contacting us well in advance to make sure we understood what we needed to do in advance of their service and what they would be doing for our lawn. They were very prompt in their service and cleaned up any dirt that may have been kicked up on sidewalks or driveway.
Description: Lawn fertilizing, weed control, aeration.
Comments: I have used Tuff Turf for 5 years and I’m very happy with the service and quality they provide. They always call 3-5 days prior to service visits and also provide alternate dates. I plan to use them again next year.
Description: Exterior rodent trapping & removal.
Comments: I was pleased with the overall results and the professionalism of the staff. I certainly will seek this company for projects in the future.
Description: Entire lawn core aeration.
Comments: The Core Aeration service is based on square footage of lawn being treated, and is measured by web based aerial photography. I was surprised to find out my lawn was so big. Tammy said “most people are amazed at the actual square footage”. I did question the area since my garden was not indicated in the photo that was used and was thereby counted as lawn area. I was given $2. off for that. I pointed out that the neighbors tree was shown inside my property line, indicating the line may not be correct. The price was not adjusted any further. The dirt plugs removed from the lawn measured 1″ – 1.5″. I had expected a deeper treatment. Overall, I was satisfied with the service.
Description: We purchased a promotional service from Angies List for the aeration of our lawn this fall. Tuff Turf Mole Busters called to schedule the work . I informed them that because we live in a semi-rural area we still had an abundance of leaves on the lawn and I would remove them in a week or so after all had fallen. I was informed by Turf T Mole Buster that they could not perform the work with leaves on the lawn. I was also told by Turf T Mole Buster that the day they wanted to come would be the only day they would be in the area this year to perform the work in the fall. After several minutes of failing to negotiate a day this fall to aerate the lawn I was told the work would be done one day the following summer.
Comments: I felt that my request for a different day to aerate the lawn was reasonable and their refusal to provide an alternate date this fall was a critical indication that “Customer Service” was not a high priority for Tuff Turf Mole Busters.
Regardless of the promotional price, quality service is one of my important measures when deciding to select a company which I will pay for their services or products.
Company Response: Member, I am sorry to hear about your experience, especially since you have been a client for 10 years. Unfortunately you bought the aeration deal on the last day it was offered. You promptly notified us of the purchase, but we already had our final routes set for the year. We notified you of the day we would be in your area. We had one last day in Rockord, then we were working in the lakeshore area and then Kalamazoo. The only way we are able to offer such a great deal is by servicing your lawn when we are in your areae. We had to finish our routes and put the aerators away because we were running into too many clients with sprinklers that were blown out so they could not mark the heads, shorter days do not allow as much work to get done in a day, lawns were too wet from the rain and take too long to dry out, and now we have frost in the mornings which would not allow us to pull a good plug. We will still honor the deal next year and it we will be able to schedule it when it works for both of us.
Description: They sent me an email to schedule a visit and I told them the days I would be available . they came out the next day and never left a reciept or even that they had done anything. we called the phone number to ask what is going on. the yard did not look “cored”. they said the ground was to dry and needed to be watered first. they emailed me multiple times to schedule a revisit and they gave me very nice information (but it was after the fact). I wanted someone to evaluate the lawn also but the person who came out just seemed to be guessing. they did come out and redo the lawn so that was a deal but the communication was terrible. If your looking for a lawn service this is probably not the knowledgable company. they might be great at mole killing ,I dont know. sorry for the negative attitude but I spent a lot of time trying to communicate my needs and I felt more confused at the end.
Company Response: I am sorry for your dissatisfaction with our service. We take great pride in our service and communication. We work on routes and have to provide the service when we are in your neighborhood. We told you we would let you know when you were scheduled. Our email indicated that if the lawn is dry you should water your lawn for best results. The lawn was very dry when we aerated, but our technician knows that you knew we were coming and that you were warned about the lack of moisture in the ground. Upon hearing your concern, we dispatched a technician to look at your lawn. We decided to aerate it again at no charge to you. We rescheduled your aeration and notified you of your service date You requested a lawn consultation, which we usually charge $50.0 for non-fertilizing clients. We did not charge you for the consulting. We informed you that you had Dollar Spot Disease and possible old insect damage. There was no active insects, so we could not confirm that the damage was caused by insects. We did confirm that it was not grubs.
Description: Lawn Aeration of a small yard. Front to Back.
Comments: Whenever i hire a contractor I am at the house when the work is performed. However, they did not feel that was necessary. I took the entire day off, around 2:30 p.m. I got a call saying if they did not show up that day, they would arrive the next. Approximately 45 minutes later here comes a worker on the machine, that I did not thing dug deep enough into the ground. I barely touched the front end of my yard, which is were it needed it most due to the dry season this past summer.
Company Response: We tell all our clients they do not have to be home. I am sorry you took the day off, but aeration is a pretty straight forward service. When we called and emailed in advance of the day you were scheduled, we give a 2 day window. We do this to allow for bad weather, equipment problems, and other unforseen circumstances. If wyou were given a time we would be there, I apologize because that is not our policy. We do not rush through the current lawn we are to try to make a set time on the next lawn. If a client or neighbor wants to ask us questions about their lawn, we will spend the time needed to answer their questions. We don’t set up appointments because that might mean brushing off a client to meet another. Certain jobs require extra time based on the obstacles and terrain of the lawn that can also slow down our technicians. When we called and emailed in advance we did let you know that if it was dry, that you should water your lawn for better results. It is hard to pull a plug out of a dry lawn.
Description: Lawn aeration.
Company Response: I am sorry that you gave us a poor grade for responsiveness and quality. Can you elaborate on why you gave the grade?
Description: Had the lawn aerated. It was done as expected, and the person that did the job was very congenial, and did a great job.
Comments: Not a lot to describe. The company did what they were supposed to do. They were especially good contacting me for when the service would be done.
Description: Service provided for chipmunk elimination/removal. 1 initial visit for setup of 8 boxex (16 traps), then 4 more visit-checks. Inconsistent checks: 6d,3d,7d,6d, but also forgot to pick up last visit so I had to email as to when they were going to pick up, since now it was 2 weeks later (actutally this became an extra visit on their part. I checked 5 of the 8 boxes and still found 2 chipmunks and 2 or three mice, thus elimination of problem was not solved.
Only guaranteed a certain amount of visits (4 checks, 1 initial set-up visit). They did provide good email communication. Think service is expensive if not for half-price offer-BUT even then the problem was not solved.
For those who want to to know type of traps used: large plastic boxes, size of large shoe box with cover, one hole at each side. Inside box two large mice traps plus sprinkling of sunflower bird seed. Once one box top was ajar, with all bird seed eaten, rodent escaped. And other times the chipmunks or mice (yes, mice were found too) ate birdseed and left. One week no chipmunks/mice were found. Program started 8\22\12 then 1st check 8\28\12 caught 9 chipmunks, 1 mouse; 2nd check 8/31/2 caught 2 chipmunks, 1 mouse; 3rd check 9/7/12 caught 0 chipmunks/mice; 4th check and should have been final check 9/13/12 caught 2 chipmunks, 2 mice, 1 vole. They forgot to pick up the traps so emailed them 2 weeks later as described above..at that time I checked and found 2 more chipmunks and 2-3 mice on 9\27\12. (remember this date was an extra, but would have ended 9\13\12) . End result is the problem was not eliminated, not even with 5 checks.
Note: Prior to service I had bird feeders but stopped a month or more before using service and no longer feed the birds.. This service also tells you to stop feeding your birds while they trap rodents, but if you do not want continuous problems with rodents, bird feeding must be eliminated forever, and no throwing out stale bread, crackers for birds either.
Company Response: We never promise to eliminate animals. There is no guarantee when dealing with an animal in its natural habitat. We caught 15 chipmunks and some mice/voles in 3 weeks. The traps were working. I suggest you continue on with another couple of weeks of service if you want to control more of the animals. Once again, we cannot guarantee that we will catch them all, but you have 15 less chipmunks now than at the start of the program.
Description: Yard aeration.
Comments: Fast service, excellent price, and a job well done.
Description: Spray exterior of home for insect pests.
Description: They set exterior traps for catching chipmunks, voles, and moles.
Comments: This deal was fantastic for getting rid of the chipmunks and voles of our yard. We can see a difference in the lawn tunnels.
Description: I used Tuff Turf Molebusters to aerate our lawn. I have used them for at least three times since 2006.
Comments: They offered this service as well, and we needed it, so they aerated our lawn.
Description: A full summer’s worth of mole control, mosquito misting, lawn fertilization and weed control. Always on time & professional. Interestingly, the mole control is the one thing they have not been completely successful with. Just to be able to enjoy the outside without being eaten up is worth the investment.
Description: We went to the home show this year and stopped at the molebusters table. They were giving out free estimates and coupons for their mole treatment for the season. They found our large yard on google earth and gave me a price for the entire yard (about 4 acres).And they guarantee their work. They came out and sprayed the yard with their formula of whatever to keep new moles out and to keep what is in the yard in the yard. They then put out poison and traps. One week later my country yard is beautiful. I normally spend the season fighting with moles, but no more. I am a customer for life.
Comments: I normally spend a fortune and most of summer fighting moles. My yard often would look like a mine field with masses of mounds from their digging. We were at the home show and found the molebusters booth. They guaranteed their work,and I think are affordable .They are out here monthly laying traps, poisons, and sprays and are so efficient I don’t always know they are here until they come to the door with the work order. Our yard is beautiful and lush. I am a customer for life.
Description: One year of fertilization and weed kill treatment, after coupon
Comments: Only two treatments so far but weeds gone after first treatment.
Description: I use Tuff Turf Molebusters for lawn fertilization and weed control treatments.
Comments: They are a great company and I give them high marks. I will use them again in the future.
Description: We utilize them primarily in the summer.
Comments: They aerate in a pattern that allows them greater distribution of water, and further access to get rid of moles and/or insects. We used them throughout the summer. We didn’t use all their services. The full price we signed for was $525, but, they discounted that to $226.50 and believe that was because we paid for the service we signed up for up front. We can count on their services, we don’t have to call them, and they know when to come. They have always produced quality, their products are what they say they are, and they do an excellent job. We signed up for insect control such as mosquitoes and things. They came when said they would. One time I thought they were leaving too soon, and I called the owner, he took care of it, and I believe it was a new employee. I give them high ratings and will continue to use their service in the future.
Description: All season applications
Comments: Good service. They call to let you know when they are coming to apply service which helps you plan.
Description: They gave me two lawn treatments.
Comments: I liked everything about their service. They’re nice guys. They send you informational packets. If I didn’t have to move, I would use them again.
Description: I have a yearly contract for Tuff Turf to manage my yard. They have various prices based on your lawn needs. Call them for a quote. It is based on area yardage. I have a contract that has them apply 5 applications, lawn rolling and aeration.
Comments: I have been having Tuff Turf service my lawn on a yearly contract for over 5 years now. I cannot be more satisfied with the service! Over the years I have had a question with a weed or vine that may appear in my yard (not allowed!) and a simple phone call gets me to a very professional person who answers my questions to my satisfaction and also asks if I would like someone to come to my place and look at it, at no cost. I could not be more satisfied with the expertise of the entire organization, including the people who do the actual applications. Regardless of who services my lawn, they are always approachable, knowledgeable and takes the time to point out problem areas and discuss ways of correcting the problem. High Quality. I have the best looking yard in my neighborhood!
Description: Ongoing service at this time. Mole Control, Mosquito Control, Lawn weeding and fertilization, lawn rolling.
Comments: I continue to be impressed with the responsiveness of these folks even though their offices are located 40+ miles from our address.
Description: I use Tuff Turf Molebusters to put down the weed killer and fertilizer.
Comments: My yard looks really good. I have their premium service. They know what they’re doing. It really looks good. They will call a couple of days ahead to let you know approximately when they are going to come. They usually come when they say they will. The yard is very green. What they do works. I would recommend them to anyone over the bigger franchises.
Description: They fertilize our lawn as well as set traps for moles.
Comments: The only thing that matters in in anything is the results. I see the results. They do what they say they are going to do. It was very effective and the lawn looks good.
Description: He does our lawn. He also does snow plowing in the winter. He fertilizes and treats for weeds.
Comments: We are really happy with them. He is dependable. He is always here when we need him. He is very efficient with snow plowing. He is very friendly and professional. If we have a particular problem, he is happy to help with it. We have recommended to our neighbors who have hired him as well. He completely solved our mole problem which is so hard to do.
Description: They put mole traps out.
Comments: It was too expensive. It wasn’t really effective. I know a lot of other people use and like them but it did not work for me. They were here when they said they would be here. They monitored as they said they would be. It ended up costing me about $35 a mole.
Description: They did fertilization and weed control. It was fine.
Description: They came about every two weeks to go around the perimeter of our property and spray a deterrent to keep moles away. They would put in traps if necessary. They put pellets into known mole tunnels. The price listed is for the season.
Comments: They were OK. They were expensive. They seemed to do OK. They caught a couple of moles.
Description: They fertilize my lawn from March through October. They also do a Merritt fertilization in July to make sure we do not have the grubs or moles. I have never had to call them back to kill additional weeds.
Comments: I have used them for years. They are honest guys and I really like them. They are professional in their appearance and attitude. They do give you a voice recording when you are scheduled and a rain date as well.
Description: They dealt with a mole problem in our backyard.
Comments: They do really great job. They have a great attitude. They are always prompt.
Description: I used a seasonal service. The company produced the desired resired results and I will use their service next year.
Comments: The representative was professional and thorough.
Description: I use them on a regular basis to trap moles, fertilize the lawn, and to spray for bugs, hornets, wasps etc.
Comments: They come on a regular basis, weekly. They know what they are doing, call ahead, give great advice. Very professional.
Description: They had to set up traps to get rid of the moles in our yard.
Comments: Our yard was infested with moles when we called these guys. They have done a great job getting rid of the moles so far. They are very careful to not damage my yard more then the moles already have.